School of Public Health Administration

The School of Public Health Administration of AHMU originates from the Research Room of the Rural Health Administration formed in 1980, enrolling the postgraduates majoring in social medicine and health administration for the first time in China in 1983. A year later, in 1984, the Department of Health Administration was set up, enrolling undergraduates of health administration for the first time in China in 1985. It was until 1988 that the school took the present name, becoming the first public health administration school in China with the support from both the Ministry of Health of PRC and Anhui Provincial Government.

Now the school offers three undergraduate programs in Health administration, Labor and social security (medical Insurance), and Health information technology and management. The Health Service Management Branch and the Primary Health Care of the Chinese Preventive Medical Association and the Chinese Rural Health Service Management Magazine are attached to the school. Our Public Health Administration is nationally recognized specialty with distinctive features of colleges and universities and the other two programs are provincial key specialties.  

Of 52 faculty members,there are 10 professors and 10 associate professors, of whom 12 have  gained phD or are studying for their doctorate. The school also has 6 part-time teachers. With its outstanding reputation in the public health management education in China, the school, focusing on the health management discipline construction and taking the research on rural health service as its feature, stays true to its three missions of training health care personnel, scientific research and social service.

We will devote ourselves to serving Anhui province, China and even the world as well, and insist on fostering high-level and professional management personnel. Our school is now a nation’s prestigious school of public health management with its commitment to good education, scales and discipline construction.