School of Stomatology

The School of Stomatology(the Stomatological Hospital Affiliated to Anhui Medical University)aims to cultivate high-level stomatological experts,whose predecessor is the Dentistry of Shanghai Southeast Medical College. The school of Stomatology was established in 1952, and started recruiting undergraduate students in 1984. At present, it has one undergraduate major, recruiting 60 undergraduate students annually. It also set up one major for adult education at two levels, recruiting more than 100 students every year. In 2001, the School was authorized to award oral medicine master’s degree and together with Chinese Academy of Sciences Hefei Institutes of Physical Science began jointly recruiting doctoral degree students. In 2006, the Ministry of Education authorized it to recruit the masters from Hongkong, Macao and Taiwan regions. And in 2009 the School was approved as the awarding spot of oral cavity medical master’s degree.

2008 witnessed its clinical oral medicine selected as the provincial key discipline and its Oral Medical Center Laboratory approved as both the jointly-constructed laboratories for the central and the local universities and the provincial laboratories for Oral Health Research of Anhui Province.

The School of Stomatology has six departments including oral anatomical physiology, oral pathology, oral medicine, oral and maxillofacial surgery, dental orthodontics, preventive dental science and two institutes including oral medicine and dental Aesthetics. It is the head unit of Medical Aesthetics and Cosmetology Institute of Stomatology in Chinese Medical Association, the attachment unit of Dental Orthodontics and Repair Technology of Professional Committee of Anhui Province and the chairman unit of Maxillofacial Trauma and Reconstruction Committee of Rehalibitation Medicine in Anhui Province. There are 15 people holding higher posts than directors in the Chinese Society of Stomatology and other professional societies.

The School has 14 clinical practicing hospitals. On September 28th, 1997, opened its Affiliated Stomatological Hospital, which, approved by the provincial Editorial Board, became the Stomatological Hospital of Anhui Province in 2005. Our hospital is the provincial key base of dental education and provincial hospital, integrating teaching, scientific research and medical care.